Barbecue Sauce

Yes, homemade Barbecue Sauce!

As I have shared earlier too, that I love collecting recipes. Since childhood I used to cut them out of newspapers and magazines. Also, to promote their products, brands share recipes on their bottles or packets. So many recipes from the back flap of a box of baking powder or Icing/Caster Sugar or butter have become a part of my collection. I chance upon the cut flap of a butter packet in my collection even now.

This recipe of BBQ Sauce, comes from a bottle of molasses I had bought. Since then I have used this no fail recipe to stock homemade BBQ Sauce in my refrigerator and hardly ever have I bought it from the store. Use for basting on your barbecue meat or veggies. Marinate ribs, chops, chicken or spread it on burgers. Use it as a dip for chicken nuggets, fries, potato wedges. Or simply just lick it off your fingers. After all you can now prepare it whenever you want.

What we need:

Tomato Ketchup : 1/2 Cup

Molasses : 1/4 Cup

Vinegar : 2 Tbsp

Dijon Mustard : 2 Tbsp

Worcestershire Sauce : 1 Tbsp

Garlic Powder : 1/2 tsp

Cayenne Pepper or Red Chilly Powder : A Pinch

Hot Sauce : 1/8th Tsp (you can use Sriracha or Tabasco. Any other hot chilly sauce will also work well.)

Combine all the ingredients in a bowl.

Mix Well.

You can increase the hot sauce if you want the sauce little spicy. But don’t overdo it. Barbecue Sauce is never too spicy.

Store it in a jar in the refrigerator. It stays for two months. At least I have kept it that long, it doesn’t last more than that in my home.

Makes : About 450 – 500 ml

Leave a comment